thoughts, shares, links, and the like…

First stop: Denver

So this is cool, getting from winterwarm Austin to 12 degrees fahrenheit (-11 celcius) in Denver.

It was snowing, and the car I rented has to constantly have max heat on the front window, otherwise ice forms to block the view.

I was only staying in Denver for one day, as Friday night I picked up Matthias and headed for the snowwhite Rocky Mountians along Interstate 70 to Silverthorne.

I stayed at Denver International Youth Hostel for 10 dollars a night, the cheapest I ever have found in the US.

At the hostel I met Murphy. Murphy is great, he works two months a year, and travel for the rest. He had been to Denmark two years ago, where he stayed at the ‘Ungdomshus’ (Danish youth co-op house, now demolished because a Christian cult bought the house, complex legal thing). Murphy also has the greatest dreadlocks I ever have seen, he said that he was going to cut them short in a while cause he was practically tripping in them. The dreadlocks were 11 years old!

We hang out in Denver that night, going to a bar where the screens showed Rodeo and the girls went wild to the country song “If I was to play in Texas I would be sure to bring my fiddler”.

We couldn’t stay for long in this freak show – even though it was fun – and went across the street to a Irish pub, with live music (Irish folk punk rock reggae band).

Next morning Pete went with me to REI, backdoor/backcountry shop with all the pleasures for the freeride fatski skier. After spending to hours there I drove Murphy to the hostel, and drove back to spend 6 more hours there, gearing up for the days in the Rockies.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

